Universal Dress Code

Old Spice

Don Juan
Reaction score
I work in the fashion industry, and from being surrounded by 99 percent women every day i can bring an interesting perspective to this board as i spend a lot of time listening to what they say.

Let me first say, I am aware everyone has their own personal taste and style, and that certain women are attracted to different styles. This thread is not about what style you should automatically have, this is just a guide of what sort of clothing and style the MAJORITY of women will find attractive.

The most important thing to remember is never cultivate a style that makes you uncomfortable

No matter what I or anyone else says, you can never dress in a way that makes you uncomfortable. Now that is not an excuse to wear gym clothes every day, but if a certain way of dressing just does not make you feel right, do NOT do it. Your discomfort will show.

In general, women look for these things first when they evaluate your appearance

Cleanliness
Wrinkle free
Proper fit
Cost of clothing (status brands)
Coordination

Your clothes should always be free of wrinkles and stains. No excuses. More important than the cost or quality of the clothes is the upkeep and fit. Proper laundering to ensure no shrinkage or general warping of cotton shirts is very important.

Whether anyone wants to admit it or not, cost of clothing is important in womens eyes. THIS DOES NOT MEAN SPEND YOUR MONEY ON EXPENSIVE CLOTHING. If you can afford Lacoste, Ralph Lauren, Gucci, etc. by all means buy them they are great quality and can only help boost your image.

BUT, you can get away with wearing cheap clothing too, so long as its MAINTAINED. This means it fits, its clean, and matches what you are wearing.

This is the minimum of what your wardrobe should consist of:

5 polos
3 nice tshirts
3 pairs of nice jeans (not levis from walmart)
1 nice watch and accesory (ring, necklace)