Stable Diffusion AI

Deep Dish

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Stable Diffusion is the best AI image generator. I've been using Stable Diffusion for six months, looking into how I can use AI within my art pipeline.

In support for my assertion of it being the best, Stable Diffusion is free and open source, runs locally on your own computer, has thousands of checkpoint models to choose from, you can mix models, you can train your own models (called Loras), is highly customizable, doesn't censor your image generation, has ControlNet (for advanced control over images), and the image quality rivals the best of Midjourney (especially with the release of SDXL).

Stable Diffusion is a model rather than a specific program. There are a variety of user interfaces to choose from, with Automatic1111 as the most popular implementation. Others include InvokeAI, SD.Next, and Leonardo.ai.

Because it runs on your own computer rather than the cloud, you don't need to worry about cloud employees or other people using your images. Over at Midjourney, you have to pay an additional $20 a month on top of your base subscription to have privacy, turning privacy into a privilege rather than a right.

Because you use your own GPU, you don't run into censorship. Midjourney, Dall-E, NightCafe, DreamStudio, and Adobe Generative Fill are totally obscene with "community standards" of censorship, which is odd because image generation tools are not social media. DreamStudio is based on Stable Diffusion, but because it's in the cloud and you use their GPU, they go full-blown social justice warrior on you in their terms of service. Censorship defeats the point of using the tools, especially when innocuous prompts are filtered, especially when doing client work. As long as companies are controlling your images, Stable Diffusion remains king.