Planning to start my own car repair shop, any owners here?

Status
Not open for further replies.

All_Kindz_Of_Gainz

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
As many of you know I'm an engineer, but have always loved working on cars, replacing parts, tunes, etc. I'm planning to start my own car repair shop this year, in the beginning I'll focus in everything except engine or transmissions. I'm also studying online to get the diploma and take the ASE exam.

Equipment will be around $20,000k, then I'll have to look for a place to rent, I have some money saved but I'm planning to take a small business loan, I also can use HELOC that will be around $130/month for 30 years repayment. Don't know yet.

Is there any mechanics in here? or shop owners? I'm interested in knowing how you guys did it.

SW15

Master Don Juan
Reaction score

sangheilios

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Not a mechanic, but I consider myself an entrepreneur. I think this would be a great hobby that you could turn into a money making gig/side hustle. It could be something where you could do basic work out of your own garage at home like replacing brakes, alternator, etc. While it's not all that complicated, most people don't really have any experience doing stuff like this, so they are naturally uncomfortable with it and would rather just pay someone to do it.