Having Trouble Focusing at Work… Tips?

nicksaiz65

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
What’s up guys! I work as a Software Engineer, been working for about a year.

The last three days in a row, I’ve basically gotten NOTHING done at work. I stare at the screen, and I just can’t focus. I can’t even work for 5 minutes before my mind begins to wander away from work.

This isn’t good, because I’m trying to be a high performer and advance my career so I can get a higher TC/salary.

What I used to do in the past, worked pretty well for my productivity. I was slamming 600-1000 mgs of caffeine a day. Then, I would put on my Spotify playlist, or listen to some longer form music like symphonies(my background is in classical music.)

This made the day fly by, and I was able to work at a pretty good pace.

But lately, it hasn’t been working at all. I just can’t focus. It’s my job and I need the money so I’ll do it, but the last few days have been so unproductive. Not good, because the amount of work and studying I have to do to succeed at a high level is exorbitant.

It’s possible that I’m developing a tolerance. I guess I have to start doing lines of coke now:lol: /s

I suppose you could say I’m a little bit burnt out of the whole software thing. It’s very strange. I thought taking breaks every single day would help, but it doesn’t seem to help that much? I’m trying to grind hard, but I just feel exhausted. That being said, I need to keep doing what I’m doing.

Maybe I just need willpower? I’m assuming this is happening because I need to use more willpower/have more of it.

Wanted to see if you all had struggled with anything like this, and get some tips before I do my next day of work.

IKO69

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Some wise guys will say take some adderall hahaha

Do you get enough sleep? Getting enough is critically important. If I don't, my focus and concentration is off and definitely don't feel as sharp.

nicksaiz65

Master Don Juan
Reaction score