AH909s Stronglifts 5x5 journal

AH909

Don Juan
Reaction score
Starting this journal to keep track of my progress as i start this program. Currently im 17, 5-11, 155lbs. Ive been lifting for the last 4 years or so but i would always overtrain and not have good enough nutrition. For those who dont know about the routine heres the link.

http://stronglifts.com/stronglifts-5x5-beginner-strength-training-program/

Week 1, Workout 1, A day

Squat - 115

Bench - 85

Rows - 65

Felt weird going so low on my lifts as i can normally squat around 225 and bench around 155 but this is what the calculations told me to do. My goal is to get over 200 on bench and 300 on squat. Also to increase my pull up count from 10 to 15. Not really sore because my body is already used to lifting. Now i just need to make sure i eat enough to make up what i will lose from football practice tonight.

AH909

Don Juan
Reaction score
You start at 50% of your max and add 5 lbs every workout. My weight for the last week is 290.

AH909

Don Juan
Reaction score
Week 1, Workout 2, B day

Squat - 220

Overhead Press - 55

Deadlift - 135

Think I went a little high on Deads today. Ive never really done them before so I didnt really have a max to work off of and i need to get the form down. I almost went 65 on Press but decided to go down thinking long term.

Krueg

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Are you doing 5 sets of 5 with the same weight or do you have 2 lighter sets and then your working sets?

AH909

Don Juan
Reaction score
You do a couple warm up sets before but other than that it's the same weight all 5 sets. And in my last post my squat weight shouldve been 120 not 220.

apocolipto

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score
Good job! Remember you won't bulk much since you're burning way to much calories at football. When does the season end? Then you can go on a real bulk.

Krueg

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
apocolipto said: