Youth wasted on the young

WestCoaster

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
This isn't directed at the seasoned veterans here, you guys know what you're doing. This is for the young 20 somethings who are lurking or posting. I'm not on here much right now, but I saw something that had me running back to my computer.

As noted, I work at a university (no, I'm not a prof) ... we have a Starbucks in one building. So I'm sitting there reading a newspaper and drinking my coffee when this gal goes walking by me pretty quick. She sits next to this guy on the couch. This is her boyfriend. Now she's fairly hot, but heck, most gals in college are pretty darn fine and they really look nice when you're my age.

But I digress ... She starts railing on him, criticizing him rather loudly in this not very big Starbucks. She's blasting him for calling his buddies, apparently, to get a take on their relationship or something. He's saying that didn't happen, that's not true, blah, blah, blah ... I was too upset to see yet another young AFC being developed to listen to the details of their conversation.

OK, this guy was handsome, fairly tall, probably could be an athlete or something. Most certainly should have ZERO problems in the ladies area of his life. Yet this so-so gal -- who was getting worse by the minute with her b-tching -- was owning him. She storms off, he follows her. As he passed me, he glanced down, I gave him a look saying, "Why, my brother?"

He not only has better fish to fry, he has MANY fish to fry as in playing out his female options at the prime of his life.

And one of the reasons this set me off was because this sh-t happened to me in college. I had a gal publicly embarrass me and I took it. Why? Because I was AFC and this guy today was AFC. I wish I was as quick as Karma Sutra, who would step in and coach this young man, but I'm not that quick.