Years of training ruined by months of sedentary living?

University.Kid

Don Juan
Reaction score
Alright guys my training has been going very well, I have managed to bulk up to over 205lbs at 5'10 with a fairly low BF% (~10%). I've been at the gym for years but I have enjoyed my best results over the past 8 months when I've taken a power lifter type approach to training.

Now here's the problem.

Being a University student, I was looking for a way to make as much money as possible through the summer in order to be able to pay off my student loans. Although training is a huge priority of mine, being financially independant and graduating University debt-free overide my love for training.

With these financial goals in mind, I took a job driving a gravel truck for a road construction company out in the Prairies. I will be on a road crew which travels around small towns working on roads, staying in motels for usually only a few nights before moving. I will be sitting in a truck driving 14 hour days 7 days a week, having to pack meals with no way to cook them. Obviously there is no way for me to get into a gym.

Keeping this in mind, I was wondering what is the best way to preserve as much muscle as possible? I get to bring around a suitcase with me so are there any training devices you can recommend? What type of exercises should I be doing? So far I have thought of sprinting, push-ups, sit-ups, planks, foot raises, bench dips (use a chair and a bed) any other ideas? Any ideas for food?

What kind of muscle/strength lose can I expect over a 3.5 month period? Will I have to work as hard to get it back come September when I re-dedicate myself, or is 'muscle memory' for real?

I know this is a very bad situation training-wise, but in just 1 summer I will be able to pay off 2 full years of school and with jobs being so hard to find with the economy as is, I simply cannot afford to pass up this opportunity.

Any tips/advice/past experiences would be really helpful.