Universitykid's Fitness Journal

University.Kid

Don Juan
Reaction score
I've been working out for about 3 years but the first 2.5 years was on my high school football routine and I've been working on my own for about 8 months. I was a running back, so in comparison to most of the guys in the gym at similar body weights my legs are disproportionately large.

In the past my workout have been based upon plyometrics with a lot of sprinting and leg work. I had hopes of playing University ball but being on the practice squad with a couple other freshman guys slated ahead of me, I decided not to play. Instead I became interested in power lifting. I started a routine based upon the 'big 3' and have varied the accessory lifts. After doing some reading on here I realize that the general consensus is that the switch from barbell to dumbbells for chest press could actually detrimental to my growth? Could someone just explain the reasoning behind this? Anyways the reason I have switched to dumbbells is that I usually workout by myself and was a little intimidated about dropping the barbell on myself.

Anyways here are my numbers, I realize that they are not very impressive for my weight or background in football. I see many people squatting much more than I however they do not squat nearly as deep and with the dead lift my grip is really hindering my gains but the general consensus my whole life has been that 'gloves are for pvssies.'

Height: 5'11
Weight: 200lbs
Bodyfat: ~10% (visible unflexed abs)

DB Press: 75x5
Squat: 295x8
Deadlift: 295x3 (damn grip or else I believe I could pull MUCH more)