Running plan?

Dr.LASR

Don Juan
Reaction score
Hello all again.
Recently decided I preferred running to weight lifting, and was wondering what I should do, as I have no experience what-so-ever.

I'm 6'1" and weigh 205 pounds. Looking mainly to lose fat, not build muscle.
Can anyone recommend good programs or show me one that would most benefit me? Thanks in advance.

Quiksilver

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I just go down to a field near here and run end to end for 10-20 minutes.

Time yourself to monitor improvements and adjust speed.

Currently 4-5 times a week. That in addition to 4x strength training per week, keeps me in better-than-average shape.

foreverAFC

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
sorry to say but running is a waste of time, and very damaging to your body. you will burn more fat doing some type of circuit training with machines and weights, and some form of sprints.

Quiksilver

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Thats a broad and inaccurate statement.

Nothing unhealthy about 10-20 minute runs.

I would agree if you are doing long-distance aerobic training, but short sessions is no problem.

You progressively increase your speed and intensity while maintaining the total length of the training session.

Many people are not physically capable of doing effective sprinting/HIIT sessions at their current level of fitness. They would be better off walking, then running, then eventually getting into sprinting and HIIT.

speed dawg

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I run ten 40 yard sprints twice a week, resting about 10-15 seconds between each of them. I also walk about 2 miles twice a week (mainly do this for cardio and my lower back). I had an injury to my back and I don't like doing prolonged running because of the impact. I try to do the sprinting barefoot on sand or grass as well.

Epimanes

Master Don Juan
Reaction score