Mentor required

Matt Rogers

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
The major problems I have found is accountability, information overload, overanalysis and fear in my quest to become a dj. What I have found that helped me in other areas, is to have a mentor who would set me tasks, demand reports and bust me if he found out that I was slipping, and motivate me and encourage me along the way.

I have read numerous posts and the bible many times, but the application and development of the habits I need is my downfall.

Would an experienced DJ be willing to mentor me over the next 6 weeks?

I am at college for the next 4 weeks and then working in the City of London, so there are ample opportunities avaliable.

I am a willing student, and will do whatever you ask me to.

RKTek

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Yeah, I'll help you, and here's my advice:

GET OUT THERE AND HUMILIATE YOURSELF.

Do whatever feels 'natural'. Make every mistake in the book, and some that aren't in the book. The main thing is to try a different technique because one definition of insanity is repeatedly doing the same thing yet expecting a different outcome. Make a fool of yourself in every way possible.

Sounds harsh?

It isn't.

The best learned lessons are the most painful ones. Everyone knows that book-learning doesn't hold a candle to practical field experience. Having someone guide you by the hand to make sure you never fall and hurt yourself will give you weak legs and thin skin.

The problem is, you're afraid to fall. You're afraid to fail. You're afraid of humiliation, sorrow, a woman's derisive laughter, the torment of your so-called friends saying "told you so". Yet it is enduring just such things that will make you a man. A REAL man, not a book-schooled pansy that never got his knees skinned.