How do I escalate this?

Don Juan
Reaction score
I've been posting these threads about my "roommate dilemma", but it's really not a dilemma since there's really no decision to be made.

I'm only here to ask, "how?". I'm not very good at this, and in the past she was the one who was more agressive. Any time I'd take the initiative, she'd recoil and leave.

As a matter of fact, I'm probably an anomaly to her. I'm physically the polar opposite of the guys she's dated in the past. They've all been skinny/small and non-threatening, I'm a "beast" (her word) and "intimidating" (again, she called it). I've known a couple of them, and they seemed overly emotional (I heard the one guy cried all the time), while I can contol myself, or in extreme cases, hide things until I'm alone. It's a trait I picked up from my dad. She does a lot of playful hitting, and she told me I'm the only guy who ever hits her back. Playfully, of course.

Maybe she doesn't understand why she likes me.

Anyhow, last week I probably showed a little more interest than usual after a night of drinking. Not that I verbalized anything, but she said not to "worry" as she was going to bed, after she saw the look of disappointment on my face. She seemed awkward around me for the next few days, but I acted like nothing happened. We went out Saturday with some friends. I could tell she was already tired before we left the apartment.