Help reading body language?

Reaction score
Gentlemen,

I'm a noob, but learning fast (3 dates this upcoming week) thanks to Doc Love & the DJ Newsletter. I, like most hackers, am slightly autistic & therefore have to study body language like an American studying Mandarin Chinese, and I would be grateful if anyone could help clear something up for me.

On the b*lls of steel web site, Dr. Steele has some body language videos, but he only discusses the clearest, most extreme cases (woman is *very* smitten, or woman hates your guts). I'm having trouble reading the ambiguous cases.

Here's an example: I walk into a cafe, dressed nice, swaggering a little. Woman looks up at me from her laptop and I smile. She does a double-take (good), but breaks eye contact by scanning horizontally (back to the laptop) instead of looking down (bad). I get my coffee, come back & make a joke, but no smile, no laugh, no response (bad). She doesn't touch her hair (bad).

This is mostly bad stuff, except for the initial double-take. Most real-life body language is mixed and ambiguous, not cut-and-dried like the books demonstrate.

Now, one of two things could be happening: (1) She is not into me at all and only did the double-take because her eyes registered motion, or (2) she's *so* interested that she's a nervous wreck.

How would you senior DJs approach? Should I have persisted after the first attempt at contact fell flat? How do you read this?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Johnny Dangerously

Smooth Player 056

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Ok i can tell ur a noob. Thats okay though, your reading way too much into this.....she could dig u or she might not......Most of us would just go for it, whats the worst that could happen, "no"

Brian20o2

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Originally posted by Smooth Player 056
whats the worst that could happen, "no"
Exactly ur already at the worst case senario. you have no # ect. go and have fun with it. she doesnt like you, who cares!? her loss