Dr. Pugsley's Body Improvement Journal

Dr. Pugsley

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Long time reader, first time poster. Anyway, (like many others) I'm starting this thread to record my progress over the upcoming weeks in regards to my body improvement quest.

I'm a 25 y.o. doctor. Over the last couple of years I've really let my health slide as I studied for exams and worked long hours at hospital. I've finally gotten some time off (to complete my PhD) for the next 8 months.

Currently I am approx 172 cm (5'8") and weigh 87kgs (191 lbs), with a bf% of about 28%.

I'm dividing my body improvement into 2 stages. For the first 14-16 weeks I am aiming to lose 18-20 kilos, and get my bf% to 10%. For the next 16 weeks after that, I plan to bulk up, and get my weight to 84kgs, whilst maintaining my bf% of 10.

Weight loss diet:
Eat under 1600 calories per day. Eat planty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Cut out the snacks. Drink 2L of water on a regular basis.

Weight loss exercise program:
Walk/jog/run 8km/day (not including walking required for daily activities i.e. walking to bus stop etc).

Resistance training in the form of push-ups, situps, dips and chin-ups. No weights until I've gotten down to 77kilos.

I realise I might get flamed by some experts on this board for not having a more specific diet and exercise program and not doing more weights. But for me, I've learnt that the simpler the program the easier it is to stick to. i.e. EAT LESS, EAT HEALTHIER AND EXERCISE MORE. When you think about it, anyway fat loss program can be acheieved by following 3 virtues: persistence, patience and discipline.