Do you vary your gym workout, or do the same things?

diplomatic_lies

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Just wondering whether its a better idea to vary your workouts, or use the same regular workouts?

I read a few books, including Arnie's Encyclopedia, as well as the website www.abcbodybuilding.com exercises.

I was like "WTF!". Am I supposed to do all those exercises, or just load up on a few?

And which ones are best? I'm still a beginner, and mostly aiming to improve my arms, shoulders, chest, and abs (I already got my legs bigger from constant running).

Should I simply follow the exercises stated in Diesel's guide as a regular thing every week, or try to use different varieties?

There seems to be a bit of a debate about this in some sites I've been to.

Soshyopathe

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
You don't get your legs bigger from running. Running will not take care of your legs in the slightest. If you want the rest of your body to grow, you need to squat, PERIOD.

Yes, you need to vary your workout every 8 weeks or so. Nothing radical, maybe change your split or reps. If you are continuing to go up in weight every week, then don't worry about changing anything.

You should base your workouts around these excersizes:
Squat
Deadlift
Bench Press
Pullups
Rows
Military Press
Lateral Raises
Curls
Skullcrushers
Weighted Situps

Now, this list is the essentials. You now choose how to supplement this list. If you want bigger quads, throw in hack squats after squats. If you aren't getting results in your back, change rows to heavy T-Bar rows. If you can't do enough pullups, change it to lat pulldowns.