Plate theory

disfunktional

Don Juan
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've read about plate theory and it seems to be highly advocated by a lot of people on the forum. I'm interested to discuss it. I'm not experienced in spinning plates, my experience in the past couple of years has been a string of STR's and I've not been seeing multiple women at the same time. This is probably due to fear of approach, laziness and time.

Forgive me if I've misunderstood but it would seem that it's often pushed as a way of fighting ONEitis so you don't get it for the one girl you are seeing. If you spin plates, you have more options and are therefore unlikely to get hung up over one girl, makes sense. However, if you are prone to getting ONEitis then is spinning plates not just covering up an underlying issue? There must be a self-esteem issue at the root of ONEitis don't you think? What happens when you find a girl who you want to be exclusive with, would you then not fall back into the ways of ONEitis if all you had been doing is spinning plates to fend it off?

df

disfunktional

Don Juan
Reaction score
Thanks for the link. If I read correctly, spinning plates can bring confidence as the guy knows he has options and therefore is unlikley to get ONEitis for one girl which makes sense.

I can't help thinking we should have this confidence anyway though? Like if we are seeing only one girl, the attitude towards the relationship should be one that you know you are complete as you are, and when the relationship ends you know you will be fine as you have made yourself the prize and you just carry on doing what you do. The relationship is just an addition to your life at the end of the day.

Don't get me wrong, I've shown signs of ONEitis in the past as have most guys. I see nothing wrong with spinning plates but I can't help thinking there are other ways to gain this inner confidence?

df

logic1

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score
Its more than the ONEitis disease.